Ottolenghi & Tamimi’s Lamb Shawarma

I used the Lamb Shawarma recipe ( p 211 Cdn edition) on my 1.7 lb rack of local lamb last night. Amazing.

Here’s are the ingredients called for in the recipe:
2 tsp black peppercorns
5 whole cloves
1/2 tsp cardamom pods
1/4 tsp fenugreek seeds
1 tsp fennel seeds
1 tbsp cumin seeds
1 star anise
1/2 cinnamon stick
1/2 whole nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1tbsp sweet paprika
1 tbsp sumac
2 1/2 tsp Maldon slt
1 oz grated fresh ginger
3 cloves garlic, crushed
2/3 cup cilantro, chopped stems and leaves
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup peanut oil
1 5.5-6.5 lb leg of lamb

Since I was preparing less than 2 lbs of lamb, I reduced the amount of herbs, spices, salt and oil. I tried to keep the proportions similar to the recipe. I took some shortcuts (ground cardamom, ground nutmeg, ground cloves, ground cinnamon, ground pepper, 1 clove of garlic, no star anise, no fenugreek, didn’t bother grinding cumin or fennel seeds). I also used olive oil instead of peanut oil, reduced amount of oil to 2 tbsp, and reduced the amount of lemon juice to 1 tbp, so I had a thick paste I could smear on the rack, which marinated for a few hours in the fridge.

Roasted at 375 degrees F for 40 minutes.

Next time, when I have more time, I’ll try slow-roasting it at 325 degrees F, as suggested in the recipe.

 

Leave a Reply

