porcini & pea risotto

This is the first recipe I’ve made using dried porcinis, and it was the best risotto I’ve ever made.

My risotto was based on leites culinaria’s mushroom risotto .

Instead of 1/4 cup of butter, I used approximately 1 tbsp of butter, and 1 tbsp of olive oil. I did not use any garlic, since I didn’t have any on hand, and I used 1 medium onion, rather than measuring out 2 cups of diced onion. I only had 8 ounces of fresh mushrooms, rather than the 10 ounces called for in the recipe. 

I’ve been cutting back on salt, so I used the soaking liquid from the porcini mushrooms, water and a 1/2 cube of chicken bouillon, instead of canned broth.  Next time, I won’t bother with the bouillon. I increased the amount of peas to a little more than 1 cup.  I also opted to cut down on the cheese, stirring just a couple tablespoons into the risotto. I placed a dish of parmesan on the table for anyone who wanted to add more to taste.

The crunch of the peas add a nice textural contrast to the creaminess of the risotto.

Leave a Reply

